Sid’s sound installation at EMMA

The Espoo Museum of Modern Art, EMMA, in cooperation with the April Jazz Festival has commissioned a sound installation from Sid Hille. The installation will be on display at the museum from April 27th, 2019 through January 3rd, 2020.

Sid’s sound installation is called ‘In Dialogue’. The work is inspired by the artistic work of the two legendary Finnish designers Tapio Wirkkala and Rut Bryk. The married couple had an enormous impact on Finnish daily life, with their output ranging from drinking glasses, ceramics, wood panels or coffee pots to futuristic architecture and city design.
Wirkkala’s and Bryk’s work is on exposition in a separate wing at EMMA, which is where Sid’s sound installation shall also be placed.

‘In Dialogue I-V’ comprises of five soundscapes that relate to elements Wirkkala and Bryk were dealing with in their own artistic work: Air, Wood, Glass, Fire and Concrete.

Actually, the ‘Concrete’-movement is relating to the surrounding space of the exhibition, the wonderfully brutal architecture of the WeeGee-house, designed by architect Arno Ruusuvuori.This is the third time EMMA and April Jazz have commissioned compositions like this. Previous installations were created by guitarist Raoul Björkenheim and saxophonist Esa Pietilä, respectively.

Additionally to the installation the commission includes several live performances at the museum.
Sid’s avantgarde-trio F# (with bassist Jori Huhtala and drummer Markus Ketola) will perform on the opening day of the exhibition, on April 27th, 2019 at 3pm, as part of the April Jazz Festival 2019.
There will be three more concerts during the year: on August, 30th Sid will be in dialogue with guitarist Jarmo Saari, on November 23rd with Austrian saxophonist Herbert Könighofer and on January 3rd, 2020 Sid will perform alone, as a multi-instrumentalist, in dialogue with himself.

In case you are curious about what the music sounds like, here is a clip with some excerpts of the five movements:

In Dialogue I-V, excerpts

You are listening to:

Pepa Päivinen on bass flute, bass clarinet, bass and soprano saxophones

Jori Huhtala on double bass and electric bass

Markus Ketola on drums and percussion

Sid Hille on piano, electric piano, theremin and synthesizer

Additionally, in between recording the tracks, all four musicians would sit in a circle to overdub various percussive sounds, voices, whispers, knocking or paper crushing.